Bulldogs in the Spotlight: Trent Davison, Men’s Golf

Senior from Rockford, MI

Trent Davison

Bulldogs in the Spotlight, Vol.1
by David Silversmith

Bulldogs in the Spotlight is a new mini-series bringing Ferris State fans intense, intimate, and intriguing interviews to help them get to know the Ferris State Student-Athletes. In this inaugural week, We will help you get to know Ferris State Men’s Golfer Trent Davison.

Trent Davison is a senior from Rockford, Michigan, studying Energy Systems Engineering. As a freshman in the 2010-11 season, Trent played a part in the GLIAC championship winning team. In his sophomore season, Trent continued to improve. His improvements in his game allowed him to earn his first All-GLIAC first team. As a junior in the 2012-2013 season, Trent earned a wide variety of accolades including GLIAC golfer of the week, All-GLIAC first team for the second straight season, All-Midwest Regional selection, All-American Scholar, and he got selected as a USA Athletes International team member. He also placed as an individual medalist at the Jewell Invitational in Georgetown, Kentucky. Trent posted scores of 70 and 71 for a three under total of 141 during the Jewell Tournament. This upcoming 2014 spring season will be his last as a Bulldog, but he is confident that his golf career isn’t over after this season.

David:
Trent, thank you for joining me in this interview.
Trent:
Not a problem, glad to be a part of it.

David:
Let’s talk about how you got started in golf. Where did golfing begin for Trent?
Trent:
Well, my dad and my brother have been playing since I was small. My dad has always been in the sport. He started me when I was two or three years old, hitting balls. As I grew up, my dad had me competing in tournaments up in to junior high.

David:
When did you realize that you had a real shot at golfing at the college level?
Trent:
I was playing against golfers older than me when I was in junior high. These guys that were my competition were also going into college to play. That’s when I thought that I had a chance. Through high school, I continued to golf against some high quality golfers. Qualifying for [American Junior Golf Association] tournament really started the recruiting process.

David:
How did you decide that Ferris State University was the place you wanted to be at?
Trent:
I got recruited to Ferris for golfing. That played a big role. After golf, I began to look for a major that I was really interested in. That’s when I found Energy Systems Engineering.

David:
Was there ever a defining moment where you thought to yourself, “I need to get to this point to succeed”?
Trent:
Surprisingly, not really. I love the game. The passion drives me. And, well, my brother pushed me too. He was better than me and I wanted to beat him so I pushed myself to his standards.

David:
Let’s switch to a different topic. How about we ask about your favorite things, like your favorite color?
Trent:
Favorite color is orange.

David:
Favorite Movie?
Trent:
Shooter.

David:
Favorite Band?
Trent:
Eh, that is tough. I don’t really have a favorite band. I do like country music and what ever is on the radio.

David:
Favorite Vacation?
Trent:
Northern Michigan. I like to golf up north in many areas. My buddy has a cottage in Gaylord that we go to occasionally.

Trent Davison 3

“I would like to be playing professional golf … in the south or on the west coast.”

David:
Favorite Hobbies?
Trent:
Fishing, being outdoors, and I like staying active.

David:
Favorite Vehicle?
Trent:
Ford F-150

David:
Let’s talk about some of your favorite things to do and some of your favorite moments so far at Ferris. What do you and you friends like to do together?
Trent:
Well, [chuckles] we play golf.

David:
Big surprise there.
Trent:
I know, right? All of my friends like being outdoors too, so we like to have bonfires.

David:
What is a moment that you’ll remember with your golf team?
Trent:
[Laughing] When we won our first tournament, Sam [Stark] let us cut his hair into anything we wanted to. I’m sure he’ll love that we brought that up.

David:
What is an awkward moment that you experience frequently at Ferris?
Trent:
Those guys on the long boards, when they eat the pavement, it can be pretty funny. Also, when I have friends in my car they like to honk at people as we are driving by, or sometimes when we are stuck. That’s embarrassing for me.

David:
Those are pretty good moments at Ferris. Let’s talk about your future after Ferris. Where do you see yourself in a couple years?
Trent:
I want to be somewhere warm with an establish income. I would like to be playing professional golf somewhere, either in the south or on the west coast. But if that doesn’t work, I’ll find work within engineering and energy.

David:
Finally, how do you think the Ferris State Men’s golfers will do this upcoming spring season?
Trent:
We want to be one of the top teams in the super region. That would get us to the national championships. We have the talent to get there, but we all need to have our best performance at the super regional. [Men’s Golf coach Mike Mignano] always says ‘Eleven equals one’. We just have to do it.

One thought on “Bulldogs in the Spotlight: Trent Davison, Men’s Golf

Leave a Reply

