Bulldogs in the Spotlight Special Edition: Garrett Thompson, Hockey

Garrett Thompson

Garrett Thompson

Bulldogs in the Spotlight, Special Edition.
by David Silversmith

Bulldogs in the Spotlight is a new mini-series bringing Ferris State fans intense, intimate, and intriguing interviews to help them get to know the Ferris State Student-Athletes. In this special edition, we are talking with Men’s Hockey forward, Garrett Thompson, fresh off winning the WCHA men’s hockey regular season title earlier in the night!

David:
Thank you Garrett for taking your time out of the celebration to come speak with me.

Garrett:
Not  a problem, man.

David:
First, you’ve just won WCHA regular season championship. How does it feel?

Garrett:
It’s hard to describe. I know it sounds cliche but the opportunity I’ve had with the WCHA and CCHA, it’s amazing. I’m just glad we could pull it off during my four years here. Its  an awesome feeling to come out here in from of the home crowd and win the title. Especially as a senior, we have had a lot of accomplishments this season and all four years I have been here. Right, now we have the WCHA title and before we had the CCHA title. It’s great.

David:
What are you expecting going into the WCHA tournament?

Garrett:
Well, there are so many speculations to make to see who is going to fall in what seed order. After tonight, we will obviously know. But tomorrow is a new page and when we find out we will be begin planning for next weekend.

David:
You are really close with your team. You’ve been here for four years. Who is your go to guy or guys that made you a better player and person?

Garrett:
I would have to say the four other seniors [Andy Huff, Scott Czarnowczan, Justin DeMartino, Cory Kane] that have been here with me. Going through the four years with them, I mean, they have been there for everything whether its school or what ever is going on in my life, I can talk to those guys about anything. They have challenged me since day one and I hope that I have challenged them as well. They are my brothers. I would say those four.

photo

Ferris Seniors (L-R) : Andy Huff, Cory Kane, Scott Czarnowczan, Justin DeMartino, Garrett Thompson

David:
Garrett, you’ve got some big teams bringing scouts out to look at you and watch your hockey play? What’s your insight on that? 

Garrett:
No, it’ cool. I mean, I see it as, I’m a team player. I’m going out here with my team and were putting our bodies on the line. As of right now, I’m at Ferris State. Hopefully its the best, then great but if not I have to make some other decisions in the future. In the future, I don’t know what will happen but it sounds like it could be an experience.

David:
Last question. What are your final words to Bulldog nation before the WCHA tournament?

Garrett:
I love the support. I can thank you guys enough.  and stand behind us ’cause we ain’t done yet.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE FERRIS STATE MEN’S HOCKEY TEAM FOR WINNING THE WCHA REGULAR SEASON TITLE!

Leave a Reply

