Bulldogs in the Spotlight: Football, Jamar —-Wimberly

Jamar Wimberly

Jamar Wimberly


Bulldogs in the Spotlight, Vol. 5

by David Silversmith

Bulldogs in the Spotlight is a new mini-series bringing Ferris State fans intense, intimate, and intriguing interviews to help them get to know the Ferris State Student-Athletes. In this fifth week, Up Close will help you get to know Football defensive back, Jamar Wimberly.

Jamar Wimberly is a senior from Albion, Michigan. He is planning on graduating with a degree in Sports Marketing. Jamar was a junior college transfer from Grand Rapids Community College in 2012. In his two years with the GRCC Raiders, Jamar totaled over 70 tackles including 33 solo hits to go along with 3 interceptions in the 2011 campaign. During his first year at Ferris State as a junior, Jamar totaled 46 tackles, 9 pass break ups, and had a forced fumble. Jamar’s senior season proved to be his best as he totaled 56 tackles, 37 of which were solo hits, a sack, a forced fumble, and two interceptions. Jamar is continuing his training for a shot at the elite level in the NFL. Here is Jamar’s interview to help you get to know him better!

David:
Jamar, thank you for joining me in this interview.
Jamar:
Thanks for the opportunity David.

David:
Let’s begin by talking about how you began playing football.
Jamar:
I began playing as a child in back yard games. I didn’t really play organized football until high school. When I was young, we would gather some friends and go out and play. But it didn’t really get organized until my ninth grade at Marshall High School.

David:
So you’re playing at Marshall High School. When did it occur to you that you could play at the collegiate level?
Jamar:
It had to have been my junior year. Before then, football was a hobby. But that year, we made it to the playoffs. I remember our QB making plays to get us to the post season and that is when I decided I wanted to be clutch. I wanted to be the go-to player. It was my motivation and it helped me get further in my career.

David:
So we know that after Marshall High School, you signed on and went to Grand Rapids Community College, where the Raiders had two amazing seasons. When did you decide it was time to come to Ferris?
Jamar:
[Head Football Coach Tony] Annese and his coaching staff were one of the big reasons I came to Ferris. Ryan Hodges, my defensive backs coach, was a mentor at GRCC. He tuned me up, got my feet straight, and let me excel from there.

Jamar and James Wimberly with their Mother

Jamar and James Wimberly with their Mother

David:
It’s amazing how coaches can get you going and motivated even outside of athletics. What does Jamar have planned after Ferris now that you are done with football?
Jamar:
Degree comes first. But I’m not quite done yet. I’ve been training for an NFL combine this Saturday (March 29th) in Indianapolis. I want to compete with the best of the National Football League and the Canadian Football League. This combine gives me a shot at showing what I have to offer. I’m excited but nervous at the same time.

David:
Do you have any teams who are interested in you as a player?
Jamar:
I worked out for the Cleveland Browns and the Detroit Lions. It took place right here in the multipurpose room. I was really nervous then but it was so cool. I knew I had to make a good first impression.

David:
It’s a big stage. I can understand the nerves going to it. Let’s talk about something less gut-wrenching. What is your favorite color?
Jamar:
Orange. I like it because it stand out. It’s bright.

[Jamar is wearing bright orange socks, similar to the color of a safety vest.]

David:
Favorite car?
Jamar:
Lamborghini or Range Rover.

David:
Vacation?
Jamar:
Panama City, Florida. But I want to go to Sacramento or San Francisco in California.

David:
Favorite team aside from the Ferris State Bulldogs?
Jamar:
Well, in the NBA, I like the Brooklyn Nets and Oklahoma City Thunder. And in the NFL, I love the Colts. I’ve been with the colts since I began playing.

David:
Movie?
Jamar:
The Wood. It’s on Netflix. look it up.

David:
How about favorite musician and song?
Jamar:
I enjoy Kanye West. Old Kanye. His new stuff is okay, but “Graduation” Kanye is definitely good stuff.

David:
I enjoy “Graduation” as well. Let’s go back to football for a few more questions. Tell us about your parents and their role within you football, academic, and personal life.
Jamar:
I really appreciate my parents. They split up when I was young, but both of them were always there for me. They worked long hours for me and my brother. My goal now is to make sure they know that I won’t let them down.  That’s why I put my degree first before anything. I love them to death. When I make it, I want them to be relaxed, while I work hard for them. When it comes down to it, they were the reason why I stayed with football. It got me to where I am right now.

David:
Did you ever have an event that really made you think, “I need to set it straight” or “I need to stay focused?”
Jamar:
I had temper problems in high school. I was a bad attitude, a real hot head. My sophomore year in basketball, I was T’d up nine times during the season. Nine technicals. But with football, I could gather my frustration and release it in practice with drills or contact, and in the weight room while I work out.

I have to give a lot of credit to my twin brother, James. He is the exact opposite of me. He is my role model for how I should conduct myself. He is calm, cool, and collective. While I am being loud, he is being modest. I critique myself based off of his actions, his maturity, and his attitude.

Also, my high school coach Matt West played a huge role in my life. He took me under his wing and made sure I had the positive attitude. He never gave up on me.

David:
So it is safe to say, your brother James is your go-to teammate for problems or when ever you needed anything?
Jamar:
Exactly, he is my brother and my roommate. He helps me get back on track when I need it. Both he and [Coach] Hodges get me to improve in every way.

L-R: John Waller, Jamar Wimberly DeShun Brown, Demonta Madden, Marvin Robinson.

L-R: John Waller, Jamar Wimberly DeShun Brown, Demonta Madden, Marvin Robinson.

David:
That’s great stuff, Jamar. Lastly, how would you describe your experience here at Ferris over the past couple years?
Jamar:
It’s been great. Community college was different. It’s not a college lifestyle. I didn’t know what to expect when I came to Ferris. But I had a great opportunity, not just with football, but with sports marketing as well. I learned how to be professional, be mature, and create great friendships.

 

Leave a Reply

